Live Oak In New Orleans

Jun 24, 2022 | The Sandpiper

I recently went to New Orleans on a river boat cruise. New Orleans is a very old city that is proud of its very rich history and heritage. The thing that made the greatest impression on me was that, despite the constant onslaught of hurricanes, floods and storms that this area receives, they have managed to preserve the buildings and the landscape – both in the city limits and out on the highways and byways, including the plantations (which, although historic sites, some are privately owned and open to the public). 

As you can see from the pictures, I was enthralled by the Live Oak trees (so named because they are always green). These trees can live up to 1,000 years. Many that I saw were 500-750 year old. They have seen a lot of hurricanes and floods. Can someone tell me why other areas can do this and Suffolk County cannot? 

On another tree note, I was glad to learn that the mega apartment complex being built by TriTech is on the old Tour College property in Bay Shore. Rather than destroying yet another piece of natural habitat, as some other mega contractors are able to do, they will be repurposing land that has already been destroyed and black topped by adding gardens, green space, and trees. 

On that same note, if you are interested in helping to make positive changes, contact your local legislator, expressing your environmental concerns. Ask them: 

  • To consider passing legislation that disallows the clearing of open space and insist that we want abandoned shopping centers to be repurposed and revitalized rather than forested lands being cleared. 
  • To consider making it a requirement that native trees, bushes and plants to be used in gardenscapes of residential and industrial building complexes.
  • For strict, enforced laws in regard to the cutting of any large trees, including privately owned, unless it is diseased and truly threatening to life and home – not just an inconvenience. Ask that tree removal companies be liable for not following regulations.

Enclosed in this newsletter is a list of the current legislators and their districts. They are all terrific people who live in Suffolk County and who have an interest in the health and vibrancy of their communities. Please – get to know them. Explain to them the importance of protecting the living environment, for everyone’s sake. 

 

recent posts

The Times They Are A-Changin’

The Times They Are A-Changin’

“Come gather round people where you roam, and admit that the waters around you have grown And accept it that soon you’ll be drenched to the bone If your time to you is worth savin’ and you better start swimmin’ Or you’ll sink like a stone for the times they are a-changin.”

AL KRUPSKI, S.C LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 1 

– AI.Krupski@suffolkcountyny.gov 

BRIDGET FLEMING, S.C LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 2 

– Bridget.Fleming@suffolkcountyny.gov 

JAMES F. MAZZARELLA, S.C LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 3 

– Jim.Mazzarella@suffolkcountyny.gov 

NICHOLAS CARACAPPA, S.C LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 4 

– Nick.Caracappa@suffolkcountyny.gov 

KARA HAHN, S.C LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 5 

– Kara.Hahn@suffolkcountyny.gov 

SARAH S. ANKER, SUFFOLK COUNTY LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 6 

– Sarah.Anker@suffolkcountyny.gov 

DOMINICK S. THORNE, S.C LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 7 

– DominickS.Thorne@suffolkcountyny.gov 

ANTHONY PICCIRILLO, S.C LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 8 

– Anthony.Piccirillo@suffolkcountyny.gov 

SAMUEL GONZALEZ, S.C LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 9 

– Samuel.Gonzalez@suffolkcountyny.gov 

TRISH BERGIN, S.C LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 10 

– Trish.Bergin@suffolkcountyny.gov 

STEVEN J. FLOTTERON, S.C LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 11 

– Steven.Flotteron@suffolkcountyny.gov 

LESLIE KENNEDY, S.C LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 12 

– Leslie.Kennedy@suffolkcountyny.gov 

ROBERT TROTTA, S.C LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 13 

– Robert.Trotta@suffolkcountyny.gov 

KEVIN J. McCAFFREY, SUFFOLK COUNTY LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 14 

– Kevin.McCaffrey@suffolkcountyny.gov 

JASON RICHBERG, S.C LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 15 

– Jason.Richberg@suffolkcountyny.gov 

MANUEL ESTEBAN, S.C LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 16 

– Manuel.Esteban@suffolkcountyny.gov 

TOM DONNELLY, S.C LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 17 

– Tom.Donnelly@suffolkcountyny.gov 

STEPHANIE BONTEMPI, S.C LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT 18 

– Stephanie.Bontempi@suffolkcountyny.gov

css.php